1970 Triumph Tiger 650

hojo70

Friend To All Bikers
Bike
2007 ST1300
STOC #
Found a Tiger 650 in Florida - they appear to be fairly rare finds since I generally see vintage Bonnevilles on the market. This one needs a lot of work but it was only $1800 (good find or did I get raped?). Had it shipped up here to Ohio and just got it today.

The original owner chopped and bobbed the poor thing but I see that Walridge in Canada appears to have every single aftermarket part I would ever need to get it back looking mostly original (for a price!). It has matching numbers, freshly rebuilt carburetor and the engine only has 13k - I am told runs well but needs a new battery. He also recently painted it blue but I'll be repainting it to the original factory color at some point. I've never worked on Triumphs before (just Japs) so this should be both fun and interesting!

bdalameda

PaleoCyclist
Bike
Africa Twin
Decent price and the bike looks pretty solid. A really nice one will bring $5-$7K. Looks like with a little work you will have a nice classic ride. Kepp it as close to stock as you can and it will retain its value.

Dna

Gonzo

3/4 Century of Trivia
Bike
2006 ST1300 ABS
STOC #
Looks like a great find to me. I owned two 500cc Triumph T100's, a 1960 and a 1964. I enjoyed the heck out of them.

Along in that era was a 650cc Thunderbird, which was very much like the Bonnie, but it had an extended rear fender which was supposed to improve the aerodynamics of the bike, but unfortunately, the air cleaner stuck thru it and was exposed to the dirt from the rear tire, causing premature engine failure. I would check the compression.

Bike
2018 Gold Wing
STOC #
That one has TT pipes on it. I can't tell if it has 2 carbs or 1. If it has 2, it could very well have been a TT. You'll have to get a new tool kit if you don't already have Whitworth tools. Not metric, not American.

Silver Bullet

Retired
Bike
2020 Tracer 900 GT