Comms System Advice

diferg

Dan & Ingrid
Bike
2006 ST 1300
I need to replace my cheapo Bluetooth helmet with an up-grade. Basically I listen to music, gps and occasionally answer a phone call. My helmet system is ok for voice (phone calls) but music is tinny and low volume. Plugfone Bluetooth ear buds have great sound quality (at pprox 80 MPH) but cannot controll volume or answer phone with AGTATT. I am currently considering. Cardo Packtalk Edge with JBL speakers. Need input on sound quality and ease of operation to Answer phone, control volume, connect to Zumo XT etc etc. If not the Packtalk Edge which system would you recommend?

Mellow

Joe
Admin
Bike
'21 BMW R1250RT
2024 Miles
I've been using Sena headsets for a few years. Currently on the 30k. Recently a downpour caused one to fail but they are not advertised as waterproof and many have been in rain and not have problems, including myself for previous 20s headsets.

So, I tried the packtalk edge... It functioned similarly to the sena so one wasn't necessarily better than the other from that standpoint.

However, the Edge volume control was odd, sometimes I could control w/wheel and sometimes I had to say 'Cardo volume up/down'.. Also, battery life appeared to be in the 9-10 hr range vs 12-13 for the Sena.

One thing I did miss was the Sena 20s/30k/50s all use the same helmet mount however, the new 50s is supposed to be better at not letting rain in, which have a built in 3.5 mm aux out for wired ear buds. When something is plugged into that, the speakers are disabled, unplug and the speakers are active again. With the Cardo you have to manually connect one or the other with wires you stuff inside the helmet lining.

I use S-Plugs which are awesome at noise reduction and hearing your music. I have the headsets paired to the zumo XT and the phone paired to the zumo xt and that works well.

Uncle Phil

Site Supporter
In The Holler West Of Nashville, Tennessee
Bike
4 ST1100(s)
2024 Miles
STOC #