Would you change this NGK iridium plug?

TMF

Bike
1992 Honda ST1100
I'm posting here since ST owners skew older, more experienced and technical. The plugs are from an '07 Kawasaki 650R (water cooled vertical twin) and have 20K miles and 15 years of use. You can see some the brownish buildup. Edges look reasonably sharp though. I figure a high miles rider has seen this during maintenance and reinstalled them for another 20K or more of use but want to make sure.

20K Plugs.jpg

Slydynbye

Will ride for Pie
Bike
2000 ABSII
STOC #
That plug looks OK but, check the air cleaner you might be running a little rich.
Gap looks kind of big but can't tell from here.
Depends how frugal you are.

Last edited:

jfheath

John Heath
Site Supporter
Bike
2013 ST1300 A9
2024 Miles
STOC #
I have zero experience of Iridium plugs, and zero experience of having plugs that have been installed for 15 years.

That being said - there is more to a spark plug than just the bit below the compression washer, and my eagle eye spots a bit of something rust coloured up there.

If it was me I'd be thinking.....If I thought that maybe 15 years wasn't an issue, why did I take them out ? The plug doesn't look to be corroded, and it certainly aint running hot. I don't know what the rainbow tinging on the thread indicates.

But I'm a worrier. For the sake of my own peace of mind I'd put a new set in now pleased that I'd had my money's worth rather than wait and have the thought niggling at me for the next few thousand miles.

OP
OP
TMF

TMF

Bike
1992 Honda ST1100
I have zero experience of Iridium plugs, and zero experience of having plugs that have been installed for 15 years.

That being said - there is more to a spark plug than just the bit below the compression washer, and my eagle eye spots a bit of something rust coloured up there.