Gear change from 2nd to 3rd

Hello,
I'm new to the ST1300 and this forum. Have just bought a 2008 model (in the UK) and when I set off, the gear change from 1st to 2nd is fine, but it won't change up to 3rd until I've done about 7 or 8 miles. Then it magically becomes fine, nice crisp changes up and down. The bike has been standing for some months (previous owner died). All oils have been changed. Could the problem be the linkage sticking and not returning correctly to its 'neutral' position? But why does it correct itself?
Hoping someone might have some helpful ideas.
Thank you in anticipation.
Malcolm

Bike
Honda ST1300 Pan-Eur
Sounds like the linkage to me. It is a known problem with these bikes. Worth cleaning and lubricating. If you do a search you will find lots of help. Good luck.

OP
OP
Sounds like the linkage to me. It is a known problem with these bikes. Worth cleaning and lubricating. If you do a search you will find lots of help. Good luck.
Thank you for that. I'm in the garage now. I'll give it a try. Pouring with rain, so won't be able to test it until later!

jfheath

John Heath
Site Supporter
Bike
2013 ST1300 A9
2024 Miles
STOC #
Possibly linkage - there is a rubber boot covering a ball and scocket joint behind the engine on the brake lever side. It is easy to lift off the boot - it is nearly sperical so that it covers the whole ball - but that makes it a bit awkward to get back on again - especially after greasing. Slippy little blighter.

1714299888152.pngBut it might be that the clutch needs bleeding. There will be a little movement in the clutch lever when you touch it, but when you squeeze, you should be pushing against the strong spring of the clutch at the front of the engine. If you get a lot of movement and then resistance, it is almost certainly air. The bleed point for the clutch is down on the left hand side tot he right of the water bottle.