Alternator upgrade on '92 ST1100- SUCCESS!

Bike
'92 ST1100
STOC #
Hi ST community,
I’ve been contemplating this upgrade for a couple years, acquiring all the parts, but moreover, dealing with my fear of tacking a job this big and tearing apart the bike in ways that usually trigger cold sweats & nightmares. But with the support of the forum, including the toolkit, the many threads w/ stories detailing the challenges and sticking points, and of course John O himself, this amateur, shadetree mechanic in WI was able to successfully knock it out in a weekend + a few evenings to get all the pieces & plastic back in place.

Thank you again John for having available an amazing, essential toolkit for this project, and thank you for the quick phone consult the evening of day 2 when I was too dense to understand the wiring schematics.

The tools and parts lists, and the many instructions that POs have left in this forum were beyond helpful. I don’t think I can add much more helpful info to what’s already been said, documented or photographed for public consumption. That being said, here’s a link (https://photos.app.goo.gl/A8VCkmd5hG3yc9oR7) to pics taken throughout my journey to document some of the where, what, how. And I’ll leave a few thoughts below in case there are others on the forum w/ one of these antique bikes and are considering upgrading their alt to the new millennium.

1)Take your time. I was by far most efficient & productive when I wasn’t trying to hurry. If you’re like me and this is your first time disassembling THIS MUCH of your ST, it was super important (for me) to stay focused, in the moment, and mindful of each fastener removed, every part taken off the bike, what angle it was in, and in what order. I’d recommend taking photos if there’s any doubt that you’ll struggle to remember how to reassemble. This will pay off during reassembly.