Brake Pad Reference: ST1100A ABS II

Bike
1999 Honda ST1100
Hi everyone!
I'm new to my 1999 ST1100, which already has 132k miles on it (US). Runs beautifully, and I love it. The only problem I have run into is that NONE of the workshops near me want to touch this bike. They all say it's too complicated. I did convince one to change the rear tire, and they sourced some brake pads for me, which ended up being the wrong ones, so I have now done a lot of online reading and wanted to summarize it for all people who come after me looking for this information.

Important things to know:
  • The ABS II brake pad size is physically larger than the ABS I brake pad and the non-ABS pad. It is easy to mistakenly purchase the ABS I brake pad because clear information is not out there. (I have a set that I'm willing to sell!)
  • The ST1100 has a number of sub-models, which you can find on the front fork along with the VIN. In my case, it is the 1999 ST1100 A, with ABS II. In various websites, this is written as ST1100A A, ST1100A ABSII, ST1100A AC, ST1100AA, etc. The "C" in "AC" seems to stand for "California", which is mostly the same bike with different jets for CARB emissions compliance. There may be other differences that I do not know.
  • On the ST1100A ABSII, the front and rear brake pads are NEARLY identical, but they are NOT identical. The rear pad has an extra groove on the periphery and is thicker to start. You can use a worn down rear pad on the front, and you can file the groove into the front pad to use on the rear. But they are NOT the same. Shops will tell you they are, but that's not technically correct. They are similar.
  • The ST1100A ABSII has THREE calipers: two on the front and one on the rear. You need THREE SETS of brake pads to do a full replacement.