Compliment from ER nurse

Rev

As a pastor I drive a lot of miles visiting my people, I love to ride when I can, and the gas savings are a nice perk. Last Monday I got a call from the wife of one of my congregants, her husband was in the hospital about 50 miles from my home. After I got to the hospital I realized I had forgot my key that locks my side box. I didn't want to leave my riding gear on my bike for anyone to pick up so I wore my gear into the hospital. While visiting my friend in the ER a nurse comes into the room, looks me up and down, and then gives me a big hug. I am not shocked by hugs, I get them from church people all the time. But I am not used to a woman I don't know hugging me. I stepped back and said "do I know you ma'am?" She said no, and told me that she just spent the last two hours scrubbing road rash from a 19 year old girl who fell off the back of her boyfriends crotch rocket. She thanked me for wearing all that protective gear and told me all kinds of horror stories of people she has treated who were not wearing gear and wrecked.
I am sure it must be heart breaking for a nurse to have to scrub and clean road rash and cause so much pain, that could be so easily avoided by ATGATT

cdp70

"Living the Dream..."
Bike
2003 ST 1300A
STOC #
Yeah, we kind of like when people wear ATGATT. Asphalt and road grime are difficult to get out of riders skin and like you said, very painful to the patient. That is kind of funny she surprised you with a hug, good for you..

Ride safe... :03biker:

Bones

Your Humble Scribe
Bike
2014 BMW R1200RT
STOC #
Hugs from random nurses...sounds good!

Thanks for sharing.

sirepair

Let's RIDE!
Site Supporter
Bike
2003 ST1100P
STOC #
I've been in the young lady's place (long ago)....not fun! And the nurse made VERY certain that she scrubbed out every bit of grit and grime she could find! :hyp1: