Cornering or Turning (I searched no results!?)

Officially it’s called cornering, others call it “go into the turns” or “riding the turns” or “riding the curves” regardless I searched Darksiders and results, Zero... (putting all these terms in here for SEO and future generations can find this thread!)

Let’s discuss this with complete openness, as I’m new to darksiding and still wrapping my head around it but open to learn new things.

If you are a darksider, how well does it handle cornering?

Have any of you lost the rear, sliding out or in the auto world, oversteer? Was darkside to blame or over confidence in general?

I’m coming from Ducati and being on tracks, I’m a knee dragged. Now, I haven’t gotten my ST on the road yet, I don’t know what to expect. The thought of darksiding puts shivers down my spine than again, leaning into a corner at 80 mph does the same to others, whom am I to judge!

On the positive side, now living in Colorado, I can see a HUGE advantage of darksiding with snow on the road, something we can get in Colorado at any time, even July or August in the mountains. Being the tire is flat, the rear may fishtail but not leaning the bike toward a fall, just a FLAT fishtail!

As a darksider, what has your experience been in snow and ice, am I dreaming of these as advantage or is my mind thinking through this correctly?

Eagerly awaiting replies!

- Charlie

Last edited:

T_C

Bike
2005 St1300
STOC #
Going dark, or double dark is not as hard as some might think, generally easier then most would believe.

The two differences will disapear to your mind after 5 minutes of riding.

1st: More push to initiate a turn.
2nd: Have to hold to keep it in a turn.

Otherwise, traction overall is improved.
On ice, well good luck!
On wet, no doubt the CT disperses water better.
On dry pavement, braking and launch capacity are considerably better.

Some folks think you will feel the edge on a square tire and the bike will tip on it, nope.