dash mounted farkle wiring

Josh_ST

I love my 2 wheeled therapy machine!
Site Supporter
Bike
2003 Honda ST1300
2024 Miles
I'm curious as to how others have dealt with dash mounted farkle wiring. I have made the dash shelf, and have a USB/Volt meter combo, Garmin GPS, and a TPMS gauge mounted on mine, and a RATS NEST of wires to go along with it all! I've tried to neatly bundle and zip tie up the mess, but it's still hideous! How have others dealt with this wiring nightmare? Did you terminate things inside the headlight fairing, or outside? Power connectors you used? I had considered going to Anderson power pole connectors, as I'm a HAM operator and use them already on my radio power connections. Or EC3 or XT30 connectors from the RC car field.

dash wiring1.jpg

dash wiring2.jpg

STRider

Site Supporter
Bike
2012 ST1300A
STOC #
Well, unless you choose to shorten the wiring for your GPS as an example, you have no choice but to zip tie and bundle as I see you've already done. I've done the same, as I suspect many others have as well.

But to attach them to the 1300's wiring I used the OEM Quartet Harness. That link is to a site catering to the police accessories for the ST1300 which has generally had it available to order, though at the moment they don't. They come and go on various sites, so if you have the time and are patient you should be able to source one. Here's a link to the installation instructions on my Google Drive. Honda Quartet Harness & Power Plug Installation Instructions_2

It allows you to plug into an unused 9-pin connector below the left fairing pocket and attach up to 4 accessories with combinations of switched and unswitched power feeds. Honda intended these to be used for their accessory heated grips, accessory power outlet (typical cigarette lighter plug socket) and radio.