Dual Sport Tires on an ST

Bike
07 ST1300 ABS
Is/has anyone run dual sport tires on either ST? For example 70/30 tires.

The reason I ask is where I live there are miles of dirt roads and I would like to have more traction when riding my ST1300 on them.

I have many years of off road and dual sport experience.

ChucksKLRST

Team Colorado
Bike
2019 Versys 1K SE LT
STOC #
Buy a KLR650 or a DR650 or even a V-Strom 650 as a Second bike for your dirt road riding. You will enjoy the dirt roads a lot more. ST's are not designed for that and will wear out the fork seals sooner and chip up the paint from the stones / rocks. Not to mention the weight of the bike. Beside the ST needs a little brother/sister.

Josh_ST

I love my 2 wheeled therapy machine!
Site Supporter
Bike
2003 Honda ST1300
2024 Miles
FWIW, the PO of my STeed put one of these on the front, as he said he felt like it helped on the gravel roads around him in northern TN. It seems fine on the road, but is noisy. But you can't hear anything above 50 anyhow :p

OP
OP
ASPC
Bike
07 ST1300 ABS
I would probably go with Shinko 705 70/30. They are very smooth on pavement. I’m not thinking about high speed stuff, just better traction at low speeds.

I owned a very modified KLR for years. I’m not interested in owning another one but it was good on dirt, and with Shinko 705’s on it, it was ok on pavement also.

I’m not set on the idea, just looking at it as an option. And wondering if anyone has done it.

IMG_7935.jpeg

ChucksKLRST

Team Colorado
Bike
2019 Versys 1K SE LT
STOC #
I have run 705s on my V-Stroms for years. Good all around tire. Front gets cupped a bit and causes an unsmooth ride in the later miles. I have just switched over to Michelin Anakee Adventure 3s on my V-Strom and do really like them. They do well on the dirt roads and smooth on the pavement.

OP
OP
ASPC
Bike
07 ST1300 ABS
The 705’s I’m looking at.

Load index on the front is 62 at 41 PSI.

Load index on the rear is 72 at 42 PSI

Speed rating is H.