First ABS Modulator Failure

Norm

Vendor
Bike
KLR650
STOC #
I've been repairing motorcycle ABS modulators for several years but just ran into the first one which could not be repaired. Really bummed out as feel as though I've let someone down. Don't see many ST1300 modulators but thinking that more may start coming in because those bikes are beginning to age.

Having been through a lot of modulators, I'm going to stick my neck out and assert that changing brake fluid in the main braking system on a yearly basis will reduce the likelihood of a modulator failure. The ABS1 modulator found in the pre-1996 ST1100's has a brake fluid circuit within the modulator which cannot be changed without disassembly but there will be some osmosis transfer of moisture along the sealing surfaces. Keeping clean fluid in the main circuit will not be detrimental and could likely have a positive effect over time in reducing corrosion and build-up of brake fluid percipitates.

The ABS2 (1996 & up ST1100) have brake fluid in the "transfer circuit" rather than throughout the modulator and so changing main brake system fluid should assist in reducing valving issues which make up some of the ABS2 failures.

The ST1300 uses an ABS2-cousin modulator which will also benefit from main brake system fluid change. The non-repairable unit had failure of the valve retainer sleeves which had turned brittle. The owner had relatively recently acquired the bike so what the fluid history was is unknow, or at least he did not reference anything. He operates a bike suspension business in Alaska and from his correspondence is no body's fool by any stretch. I'm wishing he was closer as would hav gladly offered to do his repair for some consultation but unfortunately the modulator is NR.