Hankook V4 -- 30 psi vs 40 psi

Bike
2006 ST1300A
2024 Miles
Hankook V4 -- 30 psi vs 40 psi.

I wore out my last MC tire in 4 months. Since I depend on my ST1300a for commuting to work every day now, three rear tire changes a year is a bit annoying. Since I am an engineer, I did a lot of research before I went over to the darkside.

I have read many posts here and found that many of you are using 40 psi so you can get that crisp MC tire feel. So I started out running 40 psi for about two weeks but with the "hard" tire I could feel every bump in the road. The edge of the flat tread becomes very pronounced. This is most noticeable when going slow in an alley way where there is a cement "V" drain in the middle. The bike CG point would suddenly shift when the bike transitions from one outside edge to the other. This would cause a small but pronounced one time wobble that is controllable. Also when changing lanes on a freeway if there is a small step at the joint between lanes or the raised "Botts dots" [lane reflectors] catches on the edge.

There is a patch of road (118 Freeway at Rocky Peak Rd) where Cal Trans moved the lanes and scraped up the dashed lane stripes leaving the long divots on the edge of the lane. This is a long sweeping turn where you need to put your tires into the divots at Freeway speed. With either a MC tire or the hard CT tire the wobble caused by the divots is very un-nerving while leaning over into the long curve. I always had to carefully ride through this spot while to trying to stay out of the divots.