Heat Issue: First Step Suggestions

Bike
2005 ST1300A
Hi All. I know this is old stuff for you guys,but I am still learning.
I took off the inner cowlings(real easy to do) and it made a difference in the heat issue. Not that the heat was ever a deal breaker,my old harley gets hot too.
I rode about 300 miles on sunday and never noticed any heat at all, after the first hour I would normaly have to stick my knees in the wind to cool off every 20 minutes or so.

We are riding to Deals Gap to slay the dragon,about 850 miles one way and that will be the test

Later
Pete

I've tried the inner cowling removal, did not notice any improvement. When you stop and think about it, why would it; when your driving at 10 mph, the wind direction is towards YOU, so how is the heat gonna travel forward faster than you?

I tell ya what, now that summer is here I might be driving my ST even less and go on the GS.

I've tried the inner cowling removal, did not notice any improvement. When you stop and think about it, why would it; when your driving at 10 mph, the wind direction is towards YOU, so how is the heat gonna travel forward faster than you?

I tell ya what, now that summer is here I might be driving my ST even less and go on the GS.
My take on why removing the inner cowls seems to help the heat issue. With the cowls in place, all the air coming into the inner fairing goes thru the radiator, gets hot, then makes it's way throughout the bike, and onto your body.
With the cowls removed, some air goes around the radiator, gets mixed with the hot air that went thru the radiator, then makes it's way out to you. So the air hitting your body is not as hot.