Heated grips not heating...

Bike
2009 ST1300PA
So, for all the years and all the bikes I have had over the years, I have never had a bike that was fitted with heated grips. The lights on the panel come on, not so toasty, as in, at all. As cold and unfeeling as most of the women in my life. But that's another story.

No manufacturer markings that I see anywhere. And all it says on the grips, is well, 'HEATED GRIPS.'

Seeing as I have zero experience with heated grips, I have no idea where to start looking for faults. Any ideas about this particular system?

IMG_20220414_085859_7.jpgIMG_20220414_085921_5.jpg

Last edited:
Bike
2010 ST1300
I'd start by looking for its wiring, and follow it back to the source of electricity. Does it have its own fuse? is said fuse good? Is it powered by the quartet harness? Do you have power there? Once you have established that the controller is getting power, what to the various connectors to the grips look like? In good shape, corroded or heat damaged?

That looks like a nice neat installation, I'd expect the rest (wiring) to be well done as well. Maybe a name on the back of the controller? Someone else will recognize the brand and chime in.

OP
OP
Bike
2009 ST1300PA
I should have said in my original post that the LED's all come on, on the control panel.

Bike
2007 ST1300
Those factory grips barely lasted the 3 year warranty on my bike- ended up replacing with oxford grips - which worked great for years.
I think the wires in the grip get frail and break too easily.
The problem you will have is they (the dealer) cut a hole in your fairing for the switch and you have to leave the switch in place for the life of the bike even though it doesn't work.

Andrew Shadow

Site Supporter
Bike
2009 ST1300A9
I think that they are the Honda OEM heated grips. They were notorious for having the wires break where they enter the grips. They usually broke in a location where you couldn't repair them.