Help Please - No electrical power when ignition turned on

Hi all. I'm David, first post here. I have had an ST1100 for over 20 years and never had this problem. Currently own a 1994 with about 20k miles in very good condition, always stored indoors. After riding to a friend's house across town, I went to start up the bike to get home. Turned the key and lights came on for a second, then everything was dark. No headlights, no panel lights. Engine would not turn over. Nothing working except for the clock. Borrowed a volt meter, the battery seems fine, 12.8 volts or close to it when the ignition is off. When I turn the ignition on, it drops to under a volt and even the clock goes blank. I checked the fuses, main and the subs, and they are all good. I am by no means a mechanic, but am not afraid to get my hands dirty. Any idea what is going on? Wondering if I should have it towed to my house or to a shop. Thanks in advance.

Obo

Bike
'03 ST1300A
Hi David, welcome to the forum. :welcome1:

Someone with an 1100 will be along shortly I'm guessing to give you some help!

I'm guessing it could be the battery. How old is it?

Sunday Rider

Site Supporter
Bike
1997 ST1100
STOC #
Welcome David.
I had this happen to me a few years ago, along with many ST 1100 owners here.
Have a look at post #7 here:

That wire is usually suspect so is the starter relay below it.

Edit: meant to add, tow it home. You will get many suggestions here and after you’ve tried them and something will work, you will have learned lots and you will be sucked in to all the shenanigans that go on here and become a long term member.

Last edited:
Bike
2010 ST1300
Borrowed a volt meter, the battery seems fine, 12.8 volts or close to it when the ignition is off. When I turn the ignition on, it drops to under a volt and even the clock goes blank.
If you are putting your voltmeter across the battery terminals to measure the voltage, it should not drop to under a volt when you turn on the ignition.