Hernia

A couple of months back I made a wrong weight lifting for my age and I got an Inguinal hernia , which is going to be fixed (hopefully ) in a week.
Is there is in the group a Doctor who can tell me what I have to consider in the future while riding, and what will be the healing time before be back on the saddle.
Thanks in advance.
P.B.

ToddC

Site Supporter
Bike
2006 ST1300A
Yep, what UP said. Had a hernia big enough that it took FOUR patches to cover it up. Tender for a couple weeks but now I forget that it ever happened. No issues. Just wish that I didn't wait over 6 months to get it fixed years ago......:confused::confused:

Bike
18 Gold Wing
STOC #
Had that surgery done years ago. After the first couple weeks of discomfort no problems since. If I remember correctly no heavy lifting for 30 days post surgery.

Erdoc48

Site Supporter
Bike
94/00/04 STs, FSC600
OK, I am a doctor (didn’t just stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night)- I also had one repaired a few years ago via laparoscopic surgery. I was back to work in 2 days and never told I couldn’t do anything specific (well, no heavy lifting for a short while- no issues there as I’m not an exerciser except for walking the dog).

Ride on afterwards and don’t worry at all. All you’d be doing is throwing your leg over the seat- the rest is just sitting down on the bike, so that shouldn’t affect the repair at all. I’m sure your surgeon will give you specific guidelines, but don’t over think this. I’m sure you should do well if you’re already currently healthy and the surgeon feels you’re a good surgical candidate.

Bike
st1300 vfr800
Just had this surgery a month ago , no problems but listen to the medical people on lifting and activities . I am so glad to get this done now ,no snowshoveling for me .

ST Gui

240Robert
Site Supporter
Bike
ST1300, 2010