How to apply Honda clear protective film over the saddlebag flaps on st1100

How do you apply the Honda clear protective film over the saddlebag flaps on the St1100. Do they go on dry or are you suppose use water as in a decal and work the air bubbles out. Thanks in advance for your help!
mrbill

CYYJ

Michael
Bike
None any more.
STOC #
Hello Bill:

I'm not experienced with the exact film that Honda sells to go over those two little flaps, but the most common practice in industry when applying 'aggressively adhesive' protective films such as that film is to prepare a small bowl with warm water and a tiny bit of dish detergent, then wet the surface you intend to apply the film to with that solution. The soap solution allows you to position the film accurately (by sliding it around). Once you have the film positioned correctly, press on the middle of the film to make it stick in position, then work the soap solution out from under the film using a squeegee.

You can buy a squeegee made for this specific purpose from any auto body supply shop - shouldn't cost you more than about $2. Or, if you happen to have an old credit card or a plastic hotel room key lying around, use it to work the soap solution out from beneath the film.

Michael

ST1100Y

Site Supporter
Bike
ST1100Y, ST1100R
STOC #
What Michael said...
It also helps to warm the (rather thick & stiff) film gently with a hairdryer, making it easier to be applied on the curved surface.

JQL

Growing old disgracefully :)
Bike
NT700VA
Hello Bill: