Metzeler ME888 on an ST1300

Shawn K

Professional Cat Confuser
Bike
GL1800
STOC #
I have about 7,400 miles on my current set of Bridgestone T31GT's, so I'll be looking at new tires before long.

Recently, I noticed that Metzeler is now offering the ME888 in front and rear sizes for the ST1300 - https://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/metzeler-me888-marathon-ultra-tires

As I'm more of a high-miler than a haul-asser, I focus more on getting the most mileage out of a set of tires. Over the years (and on different bikes), I've used Shinko 712's, Dunlop 404's, E3 and E4s, Michelin Commander II and PR2's, Avon Cobras, and now Bridgestone T31GT's. I'm open to trying different tires.

Has anyone used the 888 on an ST1300 yet? If so, what were your thoughts? And what's the going word on Metzelers in general on the ST13? I've never used Metzeler tires before.

I have not on my st, but its all i ran on my vtx. Get 15000 pretty easy.

T_C

Bike
2005 St1300
STOC #
No experience with the 888, had the 880's. Did not like. Horrible in rain and followed snakes way too much.

Bike
2010 ST1300
Seems to me I recall reading someone else asking about these. Go to Forums > ST Forums > Technical > Tires, Wheels > Metzler

Kevcules

Site Supporter
Bike
2008 ST1300
As I'm more of a high-miler than a haul-asser, I focus more on getting the most mileage out of a set of tires. Over the years (and on different bikes), I've used Shinko 712's, Dunlop 404's, E3 and E4s, Michelin Commander II and PR2's, Avon Cobras, and now Bridgestone T31GT's. I'm open to trying different tires.
No insight on Metzeler , I haven't had my St1300 long enough to go through a few different brands. I replaced the older bridgestone T20 I believe with bridgestone T31. No issues for me.
I too like tire longevity, but also admire the price tag. :)

How did you like your Michelin Commander tires? I heard they lasted a long, long time.

OP
OP
Shawn K

Shawn K

Bike
GL1800
STOC #