New XM Radio install

STOC #
I bought my beloved ST11 in may and today I won an Xm Roadie2. I want to install it on the bike, bit I have no idea where to start.

Any experienced info on wiring, placement, speakers (helmet or bike mounted) and gotchas will be greatly appreciated.

I have a long ride (long for me as I'm a touring rookie) coming up on thanksgiving and I'd like it available by then.

TIA...Russ

Highrider

Part time mechanic
Bike
2005 ST1300
STOC #
XM Roady install on ST1100

Russ

I installed a Roady 2 on my ST100 a couple years ago and this year on my ST1300. You have a couple options, depending on how you want to use the unit:
1. Install a power socket in the fairing and use the 12v adapter. This will be the simple appraoch, but you will have to deal with exposed wires. I tried this and decided on option 2.
2. I have removed the circuit board from the adapter and modified it to be wired into the accessory harness and hidden beneath the fairing and covers. You can also get a 6 volt adapter from Radio Shack if you don't want to mess up the original.
As for mounting the unit, on the ST1100 I used velcro to attach it to the center of the handlebar cover. On the ST1300 I made a bracket that attaches to the right brake reservoir and I velcro the unit to that. I velcro the antenna to the left side resevoir.
- With my units I use a pair of custom ear plugs that plug into the audio port. There is plenty of power in the Roady unit to power earplugs. There are a few makers of standard earplugs that work very well - such as Sony and Koss. I went with the custom plugs because I wear them 12 hours per day when I ride.
I use a volume control from Radio Shack that plugs between the unit and earplugs - this I velcro to my tank bag for easy access (I love velcro). It is very small and effective and allows you to easily adjust the volume or mute it, depending on how and where your riding.

Ride Safe !!

Dave
:biker:

Hi Russ...