Newbie considering a Go Pro but want some way to take quick still pictures

ak85lp

(Paul)
Bike
2018 VStrom 1000XA
I have a decent digital camera but I find it a pain to pull over off the road, take it out of the side fairing pocket and take the picture. I'm new to the Go Pro idea but I may consider one if it does what I want. If there was some way to mount it somewhere and push a button to take a picture maybe that would be best. Is there a way to mount to your helmet and reach a button easily?

Erdoc48

Site Supporter
Bike
94/00/04 STs, FSC600
Probably the best way to go if it's helmet mounted is to get the available remote control for the camera and then mount it in a convenient area on the bike so you can take pics on the fly. With a GoPro, it comes with a variety of mounts including a suction mount and several adhesive mounts, so you can pretty much set it up as you like. I think the use of the remote (which I currently don't have) would give you the best utility.

If the cam was helmet mounted, you could probably take a pic but would have to feel around for the shutter button and this might be a bit more difficult using gloves, plus, you want to make sure the pic was actually taken. That's why I feel the remote is the best option.

Last edited:
Bike
2007 ST1300A
GoPro can do that, but due to the fisheye lens shape, and lack of zoom, you'll be disappointed with the results. Adding the remote just adds complexity .....

I'd suggest a digital camera mount on the handlebars or faring ....

Coop

R.I.P. - 2022/10/6
Rest In Peace
STOC #
Putt kept his camera on a lanyard around his neck and took pictures while moving.

Bike
'08 ST1300ABS
STOC #