Newbie done bad

Bike
2001 ST 1100
:eek::
Well it happened. Last year I left fuel in the bike. It took a little bit of doing but got it started. It will run at full to 3/4 choke or at speeds ranging from 25 - 50+ mph. As soon as I come to a stop, it dies. I have tried adding Seafoam in two tanks of non oxgenated fuel. No success. Had some fine fellows help remove the carbs last weekend. Although they look very clean, we sprayed carb cleaner in through both top and bottom and bottom of carbs. Now comes the question, should I go ahead and clean the carb jets I've never done this before and am a newbie to mechanics. Are there any tricks of the trade or suggestions while doing this? I will have some assistance from very mechanically incline ST and Yamaha riders. Any help will be appreciated.

The Cheese

First off, be easy with carb cleaner. It will eat paint right off of stuff. More importantly it will eat rubber. Your carbs have rubber diaphrams and O rings. If not removed, will get killed by CC. Go ahead and take em apart. All jets should be soaked in your choice of cleaner. Check diaphrams for pin holes and tears. Hold next to a light and look for light to pass through em. Also make sure the fuel enrichment valves all close completly. You can remove only two of the air cut off valves without seperating the carb bank. Go ahead and look at them while your there.

Just take your time. Bag all the inside bits seperate. Take pics of everything. Take notes also if need be. It can be tricky, but you can do it.

Also, what kind of STer would I be without reccomending you change the carb isolators. Change coolant Orings while your there too. Check all pair system hoses and coolant hoses. No point in back in there if you dont have to.

OP
OP
Bike
2001 ST 1100
Thanks for the info and the incouragement !