Pitted front fork tubes damaging seals

Hey all, Newfie Newbie here from the Far East of Canada (Newfoundland). Took bike in to local dealer last week to have hard hitting front forks looked at. Was told the fork tubes are pitted and damaging the seals. NOT LEAKING YET! Question to you all, will I have to re-lace the tubes or can I clean up the pitted section? How difficult a repair job to replace fork tubes at home? Handy when givin great directions but I’m not mechanic!
Thoughts? Btw got a lot of ***** looks driving bike down to local dealership at 0 degrees Celsius! Winter here in Newfoundland.

Newf

Attachments

Bike
2003 ST1300
Hi.
You've definitely had your share of snow up there - that's for sure!
I'll include @Igofar in this thread as he's done tons of work on STs.
Kindly post some good pics of the pitting to show how bad and location and hopefully we can get you some answers.

STFlips

Site Supporter
Bike
2001 ST1100A
Hey Newf, welcome aboard the site. You will get lots of great advice and info here. I'm pretty sure the ST13 has protection over the fork tubes like the ST11 does, and they are usually hard chromed, so am a little surprised by the dealer comments, especially if they are not leaking. Hard hitting forks could mean you are out of oil perhaps (would explain the no leaks, lol)?
As nickasso says, post some up close photos of the "damaged" areas to give us all a better idea of what you are facing.

PS We have a big event in your neck of the woods this summer, check out the thread 2022-The First Rolling RockSTOC!

Bike
2016 Versys 1000
STOC #
Minor pitting can be polished out. Best done with the forks off the bike, if raised and rough, carefully file them flush with the tube. Polish with crocus cloth, which is about 900 grit, or similar sandpaper. Check out some YouTube videos.