Plasti Dip Saddle Bags

Bike
2006 Honda ST1300A
The saddle bags on my ST1300 were pretty scratched up when I got it. Since they're plastic it limits the options for refinishing them. I've had poor results when trying to paint things myself. Professional paint jobs seemed like a waste of money. I did see another post about using truck bed liner and even though $125 wasn't that bad, I couldn't justify it. I've never used Plasti Dip before but I had considered using it to paint my wheels on my car to cover the curb rash. I bought two spray cans at Lowe's for around $12 and had enough for both saddle bags, all four wheels on my car, and I have some left over. I just used a matte black and none of the extra products they sell in the wheel kit. I think they turned out pretty good and I can always peel it off and do it again if I change my mind! It sprays on glossy and dries matte, and you can always paint extra coats if you don't get full coverage.

image.jpg
Shiny, but scratched and scuffed

image[1].jpg
Close up of the damage

image[2].jpg
Taped around area I wanted to cover

image.jpg
Glossy after the first spray

image[4].jpg
First coat dry with a nice matte finish

image[5].jpg
Dry and tape removed

Last edited:
Bike
No bike
STOC #
Wow! I'm surprised how even it looks, I'm curious to see how durable it is.

Bike
ST1300
STOC #
Looks good. If you wanted to match the original glossy finish, can you get that from Plasti Dip?
I wouldn't mind trying the matte finish you used for the textured portions of the bags on my '03.

OP
OP
lawlknight
Bike
2006 Honda ST1300A
Looks good. If you wanted to match the original glossy finish, can you get that from Plasti Dip?
I wouldn't mind trying the matte finish you used for the textured portions of the bags on my '03.
They have different "enhancers" that can give a different finish; metallic, chameleon, pearl, and gloss. They have a lot of different colors and if you don't like it you can just peel it off.