Possible front fork issues

Bike
Honda ST1100
Hello.
I started riding my recently bought motorcycle. One of the possible problems I noticed was the rigidity of the front fork. The fork stroke seems a bit small to me, about 80mm, it bends and comes back hard. When driving on the road, if there are small unevenness, the handlebars vibrate as if the suspension were rigid-fixed. I don't know the history of the suspension service. When braking, there is a slight forward bending and return. I'm thinking of disassembling and cleaning it. I'm curious if I can put ATF oil in the shock absorbers. On other Honda models (VT500E and VF750S) that I had previously, I used ATF oil (Dexron2), with very satisfactory results. You have experience with such an oil in the fork? I am 1.78m tall and 84kg in weight. Thank you.

CYYJ

Michael
Bike
None any more.
STOC #
Hello, and welcome to the forum community.

There are a lot of really detailed and informative posts about ST 1100 suspension service here in our forum, in a sub-forum called ST 1100 Suspension. There might also be a few exceptionally good discussions about ST 1100 suspension in the sub-forum called ST 1100 Articles, which is the library where the most useful and very best posts get stored for future reference.

Have a browse through there (make a coffee first!) and see what you find.

As for using transmission fluid - the specified fluid, which is Honda fork fluid, is not that expensive, I think it would probably be safer to use a fluid specifically intended for motorcycle forks.

I was riding my ST 1100 in Northern Romania a couple of years ago, near Cluj Napoca - wonderful country you live in, great people, great food, great riding.

Michael

PS: Be aware that there is an anti-dive mechanism on (some? all?) ST 1100 model front forks - that mechanism is a bit complex to service, and may need some replacement parts, so do quite a bit of reading about it before you start disassembly.

Bike
2000 ST1100
Hello.