Rear Brake Issue

Bike
'06 ST1300
STOC #
Hello! I just brought home my new to me 2005 ST1300 non-ABS. The rear brake pedal goes to the "floor"! It will, however, pump up. Do I have an issue with the rear Master Cylinder?
Also, the SMC clunks alot over bumps.
Thanks for any help!

Gary

The ST's linked brakes are quirky and semi-complicated. Research here and get yourself a good understanding of how they work.

Then start with a proper bleed. According to procedure. Short cuts will not get it done right and may have no effect.

You may want to chat with me for a few minutes first, as I may be able to save you some drama and frustration doing your bleed, and inspections.
Standing by the white courtesy phone if needed :WCP1:

Clunking sounds like a SMC rebuild or replace!

You didn't say how many miles are on it.

You don't know what proper bleeding is, until you have talked with Larry.
Thanks for that John, I just spit my soda on the keyboard :rofl1:
Now I don't care what you say, that there was funny :crackup:

20k on the odo.

Igofar, I will call when I do this! Thank you!
I just got the bike home, got the insurance, registration, title in order. Doing a good check over to see if other problems exsist before tearing into this.
I assumed the Factory Honda bleeding procedure was best.

Response to my conversation with Igofar and what finally fixed the issue!

Heya Larry,

Sorry I didn't get back sooner.
I discovered the problem with the rear brake! Seems the upper cup in the SMC was all wrinkled up and flipped over. I got a rebuilt kit from and installed it. Easy right? But...now for the bleeding.
As you alerted me to, it was a PITA!

What I did:
Used my MightyVac to evacuate all the old fluid and start the bleeding process. So good so far, right?

Following the Honda Service Manual, I bled exactly as stated, with the MightyVac. Seems I got nowhere, lots of air, seems I was missing something! I started over, following procedure again, no rear brake!