Rear caliper and bracket help!!

So I have a 2000 st1100. In the process of taking the rear tire out... I unscrewed the caliper both that goes to the bracket now.... I cant seem to screw it back in as it feels cross threaded. Now I'm able to screw it in about 4 turns and I noticed the rake pads are still able to swing out of the clip. I really need some help and willing to post some pics but I got to get back on the road... btw this is my first time messing with my st

. I just bought it a week ago

Bike
VStrom 650
We need pictures, I think.
No bolt/pin will go in 4 full turns if it's cross threaded.
Do you mean the caliper pin or the bolt attaching the brake hanger bracket to the swingarm, or both. The pads are held in by the caliper pin and the lock nut/thingy which goes on top, the pads need to be rested on top of the front pad shim thingy, if they're not all the way in you won't get the caliper pin in. When they're in properly they're a breeze.
More info and piccies please.
Upt'North.

Bike
98 & 99 ST1100
STOC #
Without pics or more info, it sounds like you don't have the caliper arm indexed at the right point for the bolt to thread into the hole in the caliper arm that positions it in the correct position, I am with @Upt' North that cross-thread is not a possibility. If it is not an indexing issue as described above, there may be a damaged thread on the stop bolt.

Bike
2000 ST1100Y
STOC #
PS, I recently had the back wheel out and couldn't get the caliper bracket in as I didn't put the wheel bearing spacer in correctly. It was only about 5 mm difference, but impossible to do until I rectified my error.

OP
OP