Rear caliper and bracket help!!

Bike
2004 ST1300
So I have a 2000 st1100. In the process of taking the rear tire out... I unscrewed the caliper both that goes to the bracket now.... I cant seem to screw it back in as it feels cross threaded. Now I'm able to screw it in about 4 turns and I noticed the rake pads are still able to swing out of the clip. I really need some help and willing to post some pics but I got to get back on the road... btw this is my first time messing with my st

. I just bought it a week ago
I did the same thing.
The fix?
I put some grease on the bolt threads, fingered tightened it till it stopped, then put a socket on it and muscled it on.
Everything lined up fine.

OP
OP
UPDATE!!!!
Took off the caliper and bracket completely from the bike.... guess I'm gonna pay for that later by bleeding it... but found out it was slightly crossthreaded by one notch in the middle... got it all fixed!!! Thanks for everyone on your input and support. Glad to have this bike... now just for tires and a brake bleed and I'll be on the road again

Bike
2021 RE Meteor 350
UPDATE!!!!
Took off the caliper and bracket completely from the bike.... guess I'm gonna pay for that later by bleeding it... but found out it was slightly crossthreaded by one notch in the middle... got it all fixed!!! Thanks for everyone on your input and support. Glad to have this bike... now just for tires and a brake bleed and I'll be on the road again
No one has mentioned this yet, so I will suggest you need to get the Honda Service Manual for the bike. Having that, you would have avoided a lot of unnecessary parts removal and the ensuing confusion.

Bike
'04 ST1300
STOC #
:thumb: