reasons new fork seals would leak?

Hi All:

2003 ST1300ABS

In August I installed new fork seals, dust covers and replaced the fork oil. After talking to a couple friends at work who work on bikes, i expected some oil to be visble on the fork tubes until they worked in.

Now in October, the seals are still letting a very minor amount of oil past the seals.

Here are my questions:

Is something seriously wrong?

With a couple thousand miles on these seals, shoulds the fork be pretty much dry once wiped off?

Is it possible to put the seals in upside down? From memory, I placed them in with the inner spring visible from the top.

Is it possible I got two brand new bad seals?

I am leaning to human error on my part since the seals are behaving identically on both sides and I am not a professional mechanic.

Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance,

-brian

pretbek

Ŵΐļļ ŗĭδέ ∫ỗґ Ŧщịştịέş
Bike
Super Tenere
STOC #
I don't remember if the spring go top or bottom, but upside down seals was the first thing I thought if when I saw the thread subject.
Posted via Mobile Device

Highrider

Part time mechanic
Bike
2005 ST1300
STOC #
Any amount of a leak is not good, you should not be showing any signs of an oil buildup on your tubes. A visual check of the tube surface and the seal diameter should verify whether or not you have a long term problem. If there are no visible flaws on the seal or tube, they should seal if properly installed. Here are a few sites with some good ideas for make shift tools and proceedures that may help you determine if you have an installation issue.

http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/tech/replace_fork_seals/index.html

http://www.motorcycle.com/how-to/how-to-replace-fork-seals-3442.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9ICr-DOmdk

SupraSabre

48 Years of SoCal Lane Splitting/Commuting-Retired
Site Supporter
Bike
12/04 ST 1300s
2024 Miles
STOC #