RIP Tom Loftus (tloftus)

Bike
2016 FJR
STOC #
I only met Tom briefly one year down at the IBA party in Jacksonville. His riding resume is as impressive as they come. I think he rode in 7 IBR's and was continually at or near the top of the yearly mileage list on this site. I wouldn't be surprised if he actually had more mileage on ST's than anybody else. Ride in Peace Tom.

Shuey

Site Supporter
Bike
FJR1300 ES, 2018
SPOT
LINK
STOC #
Tom Loftus . . . friend to all, passed away this morning. We first met 11 years ago when I started riding and had just discovered the IBA. He was friendly, encouraging and helpful without being overbearing. Truly a generous and accomplished rider as well.

As I remember it, Tom had a job going around the country checking-up on and fine tuning the radio beacons that aircraft rely on for positioning. He had offices on both coasts and would ride back and forth across the country, zig zagging around to visit beacons. As I attended st-owner and IBA events around the country, I was often surprised when Tom would just show up. You never knew when he'd appear.

RIP Tom.

st11ray

2006 ST1300
Bike
'06 ST1300
STOC #
I never met him, but I just missed him in Everrett, Washington. I was in for repair on a cross country trip and the service manager said, "We just had a guy in here last week from VA on a ST. His name was Tom something? I said,"Loftus?" He said, yeah that's it. Wished I could have run into him there.

SupraSabre

48 Years of SoCal Lane Splitting/Commuting-Retired
Site Supporter
Bike
12/04 ST 1300s
2024 Miles
STOC #
RIP Tom.

Very sorry to hear that.

I'm pretty sure he was the one always at the top of the Mileage board, that no one else could even come close to?

Bike
2018 Gold Wing
STOC #