Screws torque for side panel

Bike
Royal Enfield INT650
Hi everyone,

As a new rider/mechanic, I managed to replace relays, and install a battery tender cable. Nothing complicated, but a start for a new guy. None of this was done on my 1993 st1100, but another bike I own.
I'm studying the factory service manual now on how to remove the side panel. In part I want to practice this, and I think it might be necessary to remove the right side panel to access the coolant reservoir. The manual indicates there are couple of screws. There is also a torque table at the beginning of the manual indicating the torque for 5mm and 6mm screws. In the section of the panel removal it does not indicate the size of the screws to remove. In this case, am I to assume that when I put the panel back I can tighten it with no worries, or do I need to measure the screws and torque accordingly? I noticed in the manual that basically it indicates the size and torque of various elements, so I assume since this side panel has nothing to do with moving parts (or does it?) and not listing the size of the screws, that I'm just ok tightening without torque?

Thanks for reading a newbie's post.

ST1100Y

Site Supporter
Bike
ST1100Y, ST1100R
STOC #
Basically, like two fingers, especially the black M5 with JIS cross-head...
However, some sitting in speednuts, clipped into plastic... don't cross-thread those, don't force them, or risk braking the taps of (expensive) fairing parts...
I'd also give the threads a slight smear with copper paste or anti seize...

Bike
R1200rt
quite an assortment of screws there, don't mix them up just beware. Just tighten them as yoou would any screw with a screwdriver handle not an adapter with a ratchet.

Bike
2005 ST-1300
I did not know there was a torque for those, I just tighten until if feels right. I never had one back out or get stuck for next time.

OP
OP
karuzo
Bike
Royal Enfield INT650