Sidecar on ST 1300 Fork springs too soft.

Southeastern corner of Arizona, planet earth!
Bike
05 ST 1300 hack'd
Hello Folks , I have an 05 1300 with a good sized Hannigan sidecar recently installed, and I can tell the front springs are way too soft. Is there a way to increase spring preload by adding a spacer an top of the spring, or heavier springs I can replace the stock ones with? What are the groups recommendations as far as heavier springs?
I am new to the ST 1300, and learning alot reading here, although,this is my 3rd sidecar rig. What an awesome "tug" the ST is!
Thanks alot,
Rick

dduelin

Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Site Supporter
Bike
GL1800 R1200RT NC700
2024 Miles
STOC #
You can add preload with a spacer on top of the existing spring stack I think your situation calls for skipping that and just replacing the springs with stiffer ones. The stock springs are made for riders under 165 lbs or so. RaceTech, Sonic, and Hyperpro are popular aftermarket spring suppliers. You can probably get someone on the phone at Race Tech https://www.racetech.com/ to discuss your special need.

OP
OP
bigbikerrick
Bike
05 ST 1300 hack'd
You can add preload with a spacer on top of the existing spring stack I think your situation calls for skipping that and just replacing the springs with stiffer ones. The stock springs are made for riders under 165 lbs or so. RaceTech, Sonic, and Hyperpro are popular aftermarket spring suppliers. You can probably get someone on the phone at Race Tech https://www.racetech.com/ to discuss your special need.
Thanks Dduelin for the info on available stiffer aftermarket springs, I will check out what they have. I read here that someone also used springs from a ZX 14 in an ST 1300 with good results. They are supposed to be 3/4" longer than the honda oem,and a bit stiffer,as well.
Thanks
Rick.

Bike
2005 st1300