SMC overhaul parts

STU

hi Everyone,

I would like to try and order parts to overhaul my SMC before stripping it. I know it sounds crazy, but I use the bike every day and cant be without it/wait for parts. I'm absolutely certain the SMC is knackered and even if I end up not needing the parts and can just clean it up I dont mind.
So...the question is, for those of you that have already done this. Will I need the parts similar to a normal master cylinder rebuild/overhaul, or is it likely I will need the 'body' of the SMC as well.
Sorry for probably incorrect terminology. Im only an amateur!:)

acedantinne

Site Supporter
Bike
04-st1300, 15-1200RT
STOC #
STU, here in the USA the part # for the overhaul kit is # 45620-MCS-G03, price is $51.25. U wont have your answer till U take the master cylinder apart?

OP
OP

STU

Thanks folks,
Trosty, its good to know Im not the only one in Uk tackling these things! Im pleased it didnt take you too long. Will probably take me a bit longer if I do it on my own, which Im kind of inclined to do now....if I can find some time. Otherwise it will go into the garage next week. Who is the stealer?

Bike
2007 ST1300
STOC #
After helping Igofar with his rebuild I would strongly encourage you to just by a new SMC and for get the kit. I wouldn't ever want to do that again.

OP
OP

STU

Surprise...yes, I actually changed the SMC myself today. OK...so I didnt follow everyones advice to a tee. I bought a complete used SMC off ebay. Took it apart...it was all clean and good. Fitted to my bike. Bleed the brakes as per the brilliant instructions on this site. BUT...
AAAARRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH..the brakes are still sticking on. Even worse than before!
And, on inspecting the SMC that I took off my bike, that was all clean and working fine too.
Any ideas anyone?
Thanks in advance.
STU

Mellow

Joe
Admin
Bike
'21 BMW R1250RT
2024 Miles
There was a PCV recall on some bikes.. it's possible that is the issue.

OP
OP

STU