Solid ABS light

Hi Everyone, i'm new to a 2005 ST1300A and need some help. Recently my ABS light when on solid, not while riding but when i was about to start it. Normally it would go off after a few seconds but now its constantly on. I can start it in neutral but i can't get it into gear, as soon as i put it into first the bike shuts off. I tried to start it in gear with the clutch engaged but it won't turn over when i do.

I want to pull the ABS fault codes but any threads I've seen say to pull fuses H & M, I don't have either. i have a main ABS, front ABS and rear ABS all of which are fine. Other thread say to push the ABS button, i don't have that either.

Any thoughts are appreciated.
Thanks
rstuyt

Mark

Gotta make tracks
Bike
KTM 525exc
STOC #
Welcome!
It's not clear so I'm just checking... Is your kickstand up when you shift into 1st and the bike shuts off?

970mike

Mike Brown
Site Supporter
Bike
07 & 12 ST1300A
SPOT
LINK
STOC #
The ABS light will come on solid when you start the bike and go off when you get going. It sounds like you have the kickstand down and this will kill the engine when placed into gear.

CELarson

Looking forward to my next ride....
Site Supporter
The ABS light is solid when you first turn on and start the bike. It will turn off when you get moving about 4 MPH and it gets input from the ABS sensors in the rims.

SupraSabre

48 Years of SoCal Lane Splitting/Commuting-Retired
Site Supporter
Bike
12/04 ST 1300s
2024 Miles
STOC #
The ABS will not effect the bike's running. It is just monitoring the brake system/with the sensors.

When I bought my 2010, it had been wrecked, (and many parts were missing. It ran fine, but the ABS light was ALWAYS on.