ST 1100 ABS II Darkside

Bigmak96

R.I.P. - 2021/08/07
Rest In Peace
Bike
04 GL1800 Past tense
STOC #
I am not done yet but as I seem to be the first one to tackle the job of modding a GL 1500 wheel to run the Dark Side on an 1100 ABS II, I thought I would share what I've found so far.

The Dan has documented the changes needed for the 1500 wheel. So look at his post for that common information. https://www.st-owners.com/forums/showthread.php?99514-auto-tires-on-ST1100/page6 And this link too http://s1223.photobucket.com/albums/dd501/TheDan1/The Darkside/
Where I had some fun was modding the GL wheel to accept the pulse ring. Given the fact that I work as a mold maker I have access to the shop for my fun.
I had to first mill the GL wheel's flange so the ring would fit. The O.D. was roughly .02 too big. After I got that to fit I dropped my end mill down and milled a flat all the way around the wheel just outside the flange's dia.. Once I had that I could measure where that surface was in relation to the face of the bearing. Since I knew where the ring needed to go in relation to the bearing, I could figure out the length of my 6 spacers that will support the ring in position.
Next I put the ring on the flange and using my edge finder with the 60 Deg pointed end down I found where the clearance holes in the ring were. Drilled and tapped the wheel and moved to the step of bolting the ring to the wheel. I made 6 spacers from 3/8 round brass.
That's when I discovered that the ring is more outboard than I had thought. It no longer is fitted on the flange but sits just a bit above it. No big deal as I had to have the ring on the wheel if only for that short time to know where to drill and tap the mounting holes. I put shims between the flange and the ID of the ring to center it and bolted it on using green lock tite.
/