ST vs FJR maintenance

Bike
09 ST1300A
I have been wrestling & reviewing back and forth on buying an ST or an FJR and have also been reading maintenance issues on both bikes on the ST-Owners & some FJR forums. I have done (& enjoy doing) my own maintenance especially all the work done to my 01 Valkyrie, 68k miles.

Yell at me if I'm seeing this incorrectly: but the maintenance & getting at the basics: the air filter, oil, valves adjust, etc. seem much easier on the ST1300 than on the FJR. :eek::

RCS

I can only speak for the ST1300. I'm not a mechanic. With the help of this site and the folks on it I was able to easily do all the basic maintenance on my motorcycle by myself with few specialized tools. All the maintenance is very easy, it only takes time.

I'm referring the the basic maintenance in Chapter 3 of the service manual including valve clearance checks and shim changes along with oil changes, tire changes, air filter changes, fluid flushes, etc.

nm6r

Blue is faster!!!
Valve clearance is easier on the ST1300. The ST needs them checked every 16k while the FJR is every 26k.

Although the book calls for 16k miles intervals, I have checked mine apx. every 32k miles. They haven't really changed in 105k miles.

Ray

PopJack

Die young, after a long life.
Bike
2005 ST1300
STOC #
Buy the ST. You drop by the house, I'll help you change the oil. When you get home, you'll still have plenty of life left in the oil.

(If you like, we can sit in a dark, sound proof room and discuss what kind of oil I use and why... you won't often get an offer like that!);)

Bike
2016 Versys 1000
STOC #
I've had both, and each bike has it's own procedures. Overall, you'll enjoy maintenance on both, and I personally would choose the bike for different reasons.

EASt

Streuselkuchen
Bike
S1000XR