ST1100 Proper Riding Position?

Bike
2000 ST1100
Hi All,

First time 2000 ST1100 owner. I just moved from, well not totally since I still own it, a Honda 3rd Gen 750 Magna - love that bike btw. I've been reading over posts on how to deal with back issues, changing positions, seats, etc., but what I'm curious about coming from a cruiser lounging back position is "What is the proper riding position for the ST1100"? I'm 5'10", with "normal" length arms and legs. I have to learn slightly forward on the ST, while still trying to keep my arms loose. Do people arch their backs to get more upright? Scoot forward? What? I wouldn't imagine that you'd want to round over your back. I know this is a personal thing, but as an engineer and scientist, I'm wondering if there are "best practices". I mean Honda designed this bike for sport touring, with touring being the optimal word here. They must have factored in a riding position to get you through a few hundred mile a day. Before I go down the path of risers, seats, and rubber balls, I'd like to see if there's an anatomical approach. The person I purchased the bike from added some foam in front of your shins, so I have used those to take some of my weight. I'm a weightlifter, so I do have some weight to throw around <smile>. Other than those everything is stock. I do have a Corbin seat that I may try, but again, looking at what "I" can do first.

Any advice would be welcome

Bike
2000 ST1100
Every rider will be different. For me my wrist and back ached because of the forward riding position. A set of gen mar one inch risers took care of that. I ride with the stock seat and windshield and it's perfect for me. I am slightly forward now with little weight on my wrist and back. I have a friend that has a 99 ST1100 who thinks the stock position is just fine. It's all subjective so ride it for a month before you decide to make changes.

kiltman

Site Supporter
Bike
2002,ST1100ABS
STOC #