ST1100 with Progressive 465 Rear Shock

paulcb

- - - Tetelestai - - - R.I.P. - 2022/05/26
Rest In Peace
Bike
'97/'01 ST1100 ABSII
STOC #
I recently bought and just installed a lightly used Progressive 465 shock on my '01 ST1100 ABSII with 98k miles. The OEM shock 'seemed' to be OK... it didn't pogo, but sometimes bottomed out with pre-load set in the middle.

I'm not sure what to set the sag at. Right now, with a little static compression of the spring by the threaded ring when completely unloaded, the sag is set to about 2". For reference, if the spring is not compressed by the ring at all, the sag is about 3". What should the sag be on my bike with that shock? Note that the rear, i.e. seat, is now a bit lower, maybe 1/2".

Apologies if I'm not clear, but I'm no suspension expert, at all. Feel free to press me on more detail if necessary. TIA.

Bike
'01 & '96 ST1100s
STOC #
You do realize that the only thing you're really adjusting is the ride height for a given total weight, right?

In other words, a given spring will compress to a given length with a given total weight load, period.

I have the same shock/spring on my '01 ST1100, and adjust for best handling. not static ride height.

The higher the rear, the quicker the steering response and ease of turning; too far causes instability.

Bike
2005 ST1300
STOC #
This is how I ran my 465. That was based on getting just about 8mm of static sag (bike only) and worked well with my 90kg on board.
1569268608274.png

The Cheese

At 98k miles it is overdue for a rebuild. By like 70k miles! Get it rebuilt and then go from there. Whoever rebuilds it will be able to tell you how to set it up for you.

OP
OP
paulcb

paulcb

Rest In Peace
Bike
'97/'01 ST1100 ABSII
STOC #
At 98k miles it is overdue for a rebuild. By like 70k miles! Get it rebuilt and then go from there. Whoever rebuilds it will be able to tell you how to set it up for you.