Suggestions for trailering a ST1100

Good morning, all. New to the forum. Plan on purchasing a ST1100 this weekend. I will be trailering same back home from two states away and for an approximate 325 mile distance. I'm new to this type of motorcycle. I have a number of motorcycles but they are all standards from the 70s. Those are easy to tie down - no plastics. What do you guys and gals suggest for tie down points without damaging the bike/plastics? Thanks for any and all advice. Really looking forward to obtaining this bike... Ryan

Not long ago, there was a thread with photos showing this - a search is in order.

Why not rent a car one-way and ride it back? : )

sirepair

Let's RIDE!
Site Supporter
Bike
2003 ST1100P
STOC #
There are engine guards on the right and left sides, inside the black plastic "tip-over wings". I use 2 ratchet straps on each side, coming off of the TOW, one forward, one aft. Also nice if you have a chock for the front wheel. I like the Condor chock, but the Harbor Freight one is decent for the money.

Mark

Gotta make tracks
Bike
KTM 525exc
STOC #
I've used the handlebars (early in 2001); it worked but I don't recommend it.
Actually I recommend against involving the handlebars in the tie down, forks if you can avoid the plastic works.
I recommend using at least one through the back wheel as an abrupt stop can make a bike swing over the front tire.

Slydynbye

Will ride for Pie
Bike
2000 ABSII
STOC #
I use a wheel chock on the front wheel.
With the tipover covers removed (you will tie to the Bars underneath the covers) roll the Bike on, put the side stand down and lean the Bike on it. Cinch the left side tie down to remove slack, cinch the right side, pulling the bike upright. Make adjustments and add extra tie downs for safety.

Last edited:
Bike
07 FJR1300
STOC #