Sun Shields for GPS???

Bike
2005 Concours
Since I'm really new to this technology, I've been busy making mounts for the device. Now that I've got that accomplished, I've been having a lot of problems blocking out the reflection. So, my question is, what type of a sun shield are y'all using.

Bike
'83 BMW R100RS
STOC #
I've got a Garmin ZUMO 660 and there is a specially designed sunshield for it on-line which can be made in a 3D printer. Our local public library printed one up for me and several other ST Owners and it works great! I'm afraid I don't have the website but if you search it should come up quickly. The printer file is free and not particularly large and the fit on the Garmin is perfect.

The cost is minimal but the shield takes about 4 hours to print. It is held on by rubber bands (although Doboy has found the correct size o-ring to do that job and that will be better).

Pete

Uncle Phil

Site Supporter
In The Holler West Of Nashville, Tennessee
Bike
4 ST1100(s)
2024 Miles
STOC #
I likeee. Looks like you need to clean your windscreen UP.

Thanks.
The cost is pretty cheap, especially if you have the Velcro on hand (maybe $1.98). Plus you can 'fiddle' with it till you get it just the right length. And I have reason to believe that with the good Velcro, the cover will remain attached at triple digit speeds. ;-)

Yeah, I just 'debugified' all my windshields with a hot damp towel Saturday. The one I just rode to California made that windshield look super clean... :D

OP
OP
SourKraut
Bike
2005 Concours
Instead of doing "honey do's", this afternoon, I fooled around with making a pattern. This is what I've come up with so far. Because of the Rifle vent, I feel as if I will need to anchor (?) the backside, probably use velcro on the whole thing.

Still a work in the making.

Here's what the pattern looks like.

Attachments

TOS

Bike
2015 Super Tenere
STOC #
Mine is similar to Phil's.
Thin polyvinyl folder custom cut, then Velcro along the entire edge.