Synthetic Ester?

ST1100Y

Site Supporter
Bike
ST1100Y, ST1100R
STOC #
Seems to be the newest hype in additives... its everywhere/with any brand... found in blended and fully synth oils...

Any chemical or stability issues to observe?
(ester oils are used in refrigeration since years, but classified being hygroscopic...)

Bike
'97 ST1100
STOC #
I'm no expert on the topic, but I seem to remember reading before that Ester is one type of the synthetic base oils (group V), not necessarily an additive. But I guess in any synthetic blend it could be considered an additive.

bdalameda

PaleoCyclist
Bike
Africa Twin
Ester lubricants have been around for years. The type of ester base oils that are not frequently used in engines are called Polyol esters. Polyol esters are a group V base stock made from fatty acids and are almost indestructible. These are used in jet engines and in some permanently lubricated refrigeration systems. Polyol ester oils are very expensive, temperature and shear stable and naturally multi-viscous. They also are very clean burning and eliminate sludge formation as they act almost solvent like in removing carbon etc. They are also known to greatly reduce acid formation and have fairly high TBN numbers. The only oils I know that use Polyol ester base stocks are Redline, Maxima and Motul. There may be others that I don't know about.

Bike
2000 ST1100Y
STOC #
I don't know about the scientific stuff, but I have used Motul semi synthetic oil for the last 20 years with no problems in my VTR 750 Honda, FZR 600 Genesis, the wife's ER500 and my ST.

Bike
'97 ST1100
STOC #
Too much disposable income?
AKA, cheap insurance :rofl1:

I have used oil for the last 40 years in various motorcycles with no problems.