Jackets Warm undergarment for under leather jacket?

Slydynbye

Will ride for Pie
Bike
2000 ABSII
STOC #
Oh, I like the Heated gear, have 2 sets. Why 2? because one set failed and I bought another before eventually repairing the first.
Not to worry I had some extra layers in the bags on that trip. :rolleyes:

Bike
2010 ST1300
Well, I'm no expert but I would not wear leather gear EXCEPT Wilson or Brooks.

Yes, Wilson makes super high quality and tough leather jackets. We're not talking your lambskin fashoin leather here.
I looked at both websites. Wilson's website has quite a few leather jackets for $169 - reduced from $600 (so they say....come on, we did not fall off the turnip truck yesterday). Brooks' website shows similar (hard to tell w/o spending a lot of time comparing) jackets priced in the $450 and up range. Vests at Brooks go for the $169 range. I would expect a quality leather jacket to sell closer to Brooks' pricing. Are the Wilson brand jackets really that good for such a low price? If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

Reactions: T_C

ibike2havefun

Still above the sod
Site Supporter
Bike
Bikeless (9/29/2019)
STOC #
No electrics on my bike. I have a Sharkskin Technical watersports top for use when temps dip below about 45. A thin synthetic turtleneck next to the skin, one more layer, the Sharkskin, and my winter textile jacket is what I wear. Sometimes a fleece neck gaiters completes the ensemble.

The Sharkskin is made for diving but features a warm fleecy inside, a wind stopper exterior, and a mock turtleneck collar that keeps wind from funneling down inside my jacket. And it's long enough to tuck in and stay tucked.

Heated glove liners and socks wiul be goid, though.

Bike
1997 ST 1100
For the last two years, I've been using "Uniqlo Heatech" u'ware. It's made in Japan and pretty reasonably priced.
I find that the long sleeve shirts and long johns keep me at just about the right temp, no matter what the outside temp is.