1100 ABS rear brake questions

Bike
2000 ST1100 ABS TCS
STOC #
Removed and cleaned all parts on the rear brake caliper last night. Marginally better but still too much drag.

So, who is the resident 1100 ABS Guru???

Questions (given that the problem is not the rear caliper):

Any history of Secondary Master Cylinder (SMC) on the 1100 hanging up? Looks very similar to a rear master cylinder but also feels "stiff" when operated manually. Short throw?

Any hints/tips how to check the proportioning valves for correct action? I have no knowledge of these things

My current plan is to remove and closely inspect the SMC, where else do I need to look?

TIA for any/all responses.

One thing I noticed last night (surprised me to see the front brake operates two pistons on the rear while the rear pedal only operates the big center piston). As I was bleeding'em following reassembly, got a lot of dirty fluid from the front bleeder on the rear caliper despite having bled them last Thursday. Obviously didn't get all the old fluid out that time. Since the rear pedal also operates the front brakes, have to assume the SMC kicks in and operates those two outer pistons as well even if the front brake lever isn't touched so the rear system should be getting fully exercised each time either brake is applied.

BTW, I like the feel of the obviously stronger front end and brakes, once this little glitch is sorted, it's gonna be a good bike. Haven't kicked in the ABS yet tho. What can go wrong over time if this thing isn't really exercised?