28amp VRR temp measureements

Bike
2005 ST1300A
I am going to instrument my VRR (28 AMP) to get some temp data on it in different cooling configurations.

Yes it might be lost hope - but i'm a thermal engineer and well you know how it is!

Does anyone have a cross section picture of the VRR (internal component layout) or understand the physical construction. I need to understand this for strategic placement of the TC's.

My guess is there is a PCB (populated with caps diodes, FETs) mounted to the aluminum plate and then potted a polymer. The best case for heat transfere out would be that the heat sources are thermally conducted to the aluminum plate.

Anyway - any data would be helpful. If I new the exact components we could get real scientific and determine the MTBF as function of temperature then correlate that to the temp of the components - ok I've gone to far again for this project. But that's what we would do in the thermal design process to establish the design criteria then design a thermal solution (cooling) to meet that criteria.

Thanks,

Paul

Don

Bike
'97 ST1100