Another thermostat failure

If you think it might be bad then it probably is. On a few instances recently I noted a momentary dip to 2 bars. It also seemed to take a little longer to warm up in the am. Then my mileage dropped a little. Sunday am I took off the tupperware and went to work. In addition to the t stat I found all but one hose clamp loose. The bike warms up faster now and the mileage is back up. Do not hesitate, change the sucker if even if it appears intermittent.

Bike
ST1300 SOLD
STOC #
Just replaced mine at 232xxx. The first couple of rides this season it went to three bars, but then it took for ever to get to 2 bars, and if lucky finally to 3. Wish I had know about the Turbo City replacement. Guess that happens when you don't stay current with all the posts on here.

alf04st

Aubert
STOC #
Waiting on my TT tstat, supposed to come in today. My 04 has 8900 miles and when I started riding again two weeks ago it took it about 7 miles to hit 3 bars and it was in the 80s when I was riding. You would think Honda would address this at some point.:confused: I will take my bad tstat to my dealer and talk to them but it I don't think it will get anything done.

Last edited:
STOC #
You would think Honda would address this at some point.:confused:
If they were made aware of every bad tstat, that would help. But a lot of folks simply replace it themselves, and Honda never officially knows. I don't think showing the tstat to the service manager will help much - they don't see many STs anyway, and even fewer with bad tstats.

If they get replaced under warranty, then Honda has access to that data, and THEN perhaps they would know something is going on.

I had mine replaced under warranty. Yeah, it's a hassle. And you worry about the work being done correctly. But in my case, I like my dealer. YMMV.

Tor

Making Life A Ride
Site Supporter
Bike
R1200 GSA / S1000XR