Darkside Hankook v12 mount direction

Tom Mac 04a

Site Supporter
Bike
04 ST1300a
STOC #
Ok , Going to mount a Hankook v12 tire soon...
Being a darksider newbie i was wondering if anyone made a determination as to tire rotation.

7EbUb2PxI2.jpg

Which way are you putting the 'sipes' on the tire...going in or out?? (above pic would be going in to center )

On my second handbook V12--I have only installed them with direction arrow mounted in actual direction of rotation. You will like this tire.

ok guys , got it ( have to admit ), didn't look for an arrow on the tire since it was for a car.

But anyway, Interesting remark in Rider mag this month as to why the sipes seem to go one way on the front and the other way on the rear... anyone else see it?

The guy I bought my 2004 ST1300 from had this tire mounted on the rear. This is the first time I've ridden with a CT on a motorcycle. So far so good. The only thing I've noticed is a little more effort is required to initiate the lean. That trade off is more than fine with me when one considers the better traction when vertical (not saying it doesn't have great traction in a lean), much better tread life, and better water evacuation.

Steve

100_0836.jpg

100_0839.jpg

Tom did you mount the Hankook yet?

Jay

Yes, Jay.... As of yesterday I am officially a DS'er.

The weather here warmed up to mid 40's so my buddy and I did the change over from a 020f to the V12.
Didn't get to even test it yet as we worked, we sort of got further into the St Paddies spirit and I didn't want to take it out... .And today IT"S f'ing snowing again!

A couple of notes...
1) when cold ( even tho in sun for an hour or so ) that tire is a bear to mount ! I thought the 020f were hard. We had to kneel on the tire ( actually climb on ) to keep it in the hollow of rim so the other side would go on.
in all , went sort of like a GW tire change... a bear! Gettin off will another story