How difficult to DIY valve check and adjustment?

Slk

Bike
2004 ST1300 ABS
Merry Christmas!

I'd like to take the time of Christmas vacation to do the valve check and adjustment to my daily commuter ST1300.

I've done some research and I'm not exactly sure about how difficult to DIY the whole process. A little background, I'm a computer tech guy current running my business of Oracle consulting as well as system development. I had taken car engine apart and reassembled it. And I'm comfortable to do all maintenance except for tire change on cars.

With that said, would you think I'm capable of DIYing the valve thing? How much time would it take and what kind of tools do I need? I've never done any valve check on bikes by myself. I see some threads talk about shim replacement. At what circumstances do I need to replace the shim? Wouldn't an adjustment of the valve enough?

Bike
2000 ST1100Y
STOC #
Check out the Articles section at the top of the page (ST1300 Articles on the dropdown bar). There is a video article on how to check the valve clearances on your 1300 on Page 3. Also a worksheet on Page 4. Hope they are useful!

Bike
2005 st1300
With a shop manual in hand and the internet for backup, it is a simple job to check valve clearances. Adjusting requires more time, knowledge and at least a little experience. It is hard to say "you can do it" or "you better get someone that knows what they are doing", but, if you have reassembled an engine, I would think you can do it. The valves are adjusted using shims that must be replaced with a proper shim to bring a clearance into spec. This requires removing the cams. This can be a tedious and finicky job, as the cams require proper timing upon reassembly. I would say at least check them and go from there. It would be reassuring if you have someone handy that has done a valve adjustment, if you need to go further to adjust them.