MSF course Experienced or Advanced?

Bike
1991 st1100
Sign up here in Ohio starts Monday. I am leaning toward the advanced class, it has 4 hours classroom , and 5 hours on bike. Experienced is 5 hours on bikes, pillions are optional.
Any input is appreciated.
My background is: 14,000 mi. 24 years ago on a Yamaha Vision. 35 years riding dirt bikes. 3,500 mi last year on st1100.

Highrider

Part time mechanic
Bike
2005 ST1300
STOC #
If this is your first class, start with the basics regardless of your previous experience. I was in just about the same exact situation 9 years ago when I got back into street bikes, and I'm satified that I did start out with the basics. I have gone through 5 additional classes in the past 9 years in different formats and programs that have stepped up my understanding of safe and skilled riding. There is always more to learn, regardless of your level of experience, and you will probably be going back for more classes and/or track day schools in the future.

Bike
ST1100 & ST1300
STOC #
I would tend to agree. If you haven't done the classroom I would do that. I did the Basic Course and then a few years later the ERC. The benefit of doing one with classroom is that they will cover some things that they are looking for when you are out in on the course riding and explain why they are looking for them. This way you can spend more of your time working on the drill.

You will likely find that some things that they are looking for are going to be against what you normally do. Some of this is just so they can tell what you are doing. For instance not looking with your eyes but your entire head as they can't see your eyes. Look at Highrider's and my Avatar, but in practice this really helps you in the real world. I find I still turn my head more and turn much better. It is pretty common for me to drag the pegs in a parking lot when I turn my head like that.

FJRHank

"Scooter Pimp"
I've never taught the Advanced course but have the ERC.