pre 96 alternator - to worry or not?

ThreeWheels

I'm an Engineer, not a Doctor
Bike
2010Spyder RT-S
STOC #
Does anybody know of any other fixes that might be easier ?
For instance, has Honda made any upgrades to the stator on the pre-96 alternators to be able to take more heat?
It would seem easier to replace the 28 amp stator with one that's more durable, rather than replacing the whole alternator unit.

Maybe an aftermarket replacement part ?

Any thought from anyone would be appreciated.

STOC #
No upgrades are available. My opinion, since I haven't replaced the alternator, is you would have to do as much work to get to the 28 amp alternator to do an upgrade as you would to replace it...Once your there and have it out~apart, might as well put in the 40 amp'er.

wjbertrand

Ventura Highway
The 28A unit on my '93 failed virtually days after Alan Barbic made his historic posting with 51K on the bike. Talk about a timely post! I'd been running heated grips and some 55/100W headlamps, though these were rarely used on high. Looking at the amount of work required, I decided to try Alan's upgrade. Furthermore when I compared the price of the upgrade parts to the price of just replacing the 28A stator with another one, the cost was only about $25 more to upgrade. Seemed like a no-brainer to me.:nuts1: I think I may have been among the first 3 or 4 folks to perform this operation.

Doing the upgrade provides the bike with a completely new charging system as the new alternator comes with an integral regulator/rectifier. Since it's difficult to analyze/diagnose the RR that goes with the 28A unit, there was still a chance in my case that it might be bad too. If that were the case, it would be far more expensive to replace the 28A unit and it's regulator than to do the upgrade.