R1200RT

Hey Everyone,,

A few years back I owned an 05 St 1300 which I really liked in most ways, Some things not so much.
I am currently on a 09 Venture which I like, it's very comfy & very good 2up, I love the V-4, wishing it was fuel injected. I don't get to ride the miles I have in the past so about 10-12K a year is all get to do.
I plan on keeping the Venture, however I want another Sport touring ride, Something much less bulk under 600 lbs., Easy to get on /off the trailer along side the Kayaks. I do want the pwr windscreen, Cruise, Shaft drive, Luggage Cap. I have always had an interest in the R1200RT. I have some questions. I hear several different opinions regarding reliability, cost of ownership, parts etc... I work for a German Company and our parts are very Pricey, so I understand that part. I am a Mechanic, most of the wrenching I will be doing myself, with 2 bike it'll be ok if it down for a little while during repairs/maint.
I am interested in a 2009 model or newer.
Main Question is,, Any big reason to just walk away from that bike?
I usually ride the Japanese stuff, cause ,,it works without alot of drama,,, But I want something more civilized than the FJR or the Connie 14. Damn I must be gettin old.
I like the new Trophy, as well, I'm looking at that one too.
Let me know what everyone thinks,, don't hold back,, Brutal is ok too.

LAter Vern.

Granted, the ST13 is heavy and requires ones total attention with any slow or no speed maneuvering. But the ST handles the heft remarkably well once underway; at that point it is an advantage.
I too, do my own wrenching and for that reason will never own another BMW, with all due respect. They are good bikes, but expensive to own (must be dealer maintained) and I personally want to know the details to the mechanics of my equipment.
I would own an R12RT, hands down, if they produced service manuals comparable to Honda. But they don't, so I don't. I owned an ST13 and loved that bike, with the one above exception.