ST1100P Same alternator?

Hello,

I believe this is my first post here. I live in Ireland. I started riding motorbikes when i lived in Reading(er-5, k1100) and i was a courier there and later in Dublin. Thanks to everybody in advance. So to my query. I have a '98 ST1100 which when i checked its previous reg it is actually a '96 ST1100P registered in 1998 according to Honda. I have to replace the alternator. Is it the same 40 A alternator used on all those models in that time range? I am currently conisidering this alternator :

which i believe should fit?

Last edited:
Welcome to the group. I can’t help with your question, but someone will be along shortly that will have answers for you.

Ride Safe
John

I'm pretty certain (makes a change) that the same alternator was fitted to all models up to 96 and then 96 on, so 28A then 40A.
If you want to shop around there's a geezer on Gumtree that reconditions both ST11 and 13 alternators. I don't know how much he charges but it'll be on the site and he could be a good source of information on all things alternator related. I haven't used him so can't recommend him but he's been posting on there for years.
Good luck and welcome to the forum.
Upt'North.

Hi there, I ain`t got an answer to you question but a question. Can I fit a newer model 40 amp alternator in my 1990 ST which has got her 28 amp faulty? Thank you.

Hi there, I ain`t got an answer to you question but a question. Can I fit a newer model 40 amp alternator in my 1990 ST which has got her 28 amp faulty? Thank you.
Yes it can be done but, the Baseplate that is required is no longer available.

All ST11 P models had the uprated alternator ( generator) and eventually it was fitted to all models from 96. So a 96 or later alternator is same as standard fit part on you P model.

Last edited: